Yesterday, Sunday, I went to church and then was invited by Alex and Haley to get coffee. In case you are not aware, the cafe culture in Korea is huge. You can easily find a cafe in Korea, small ones, large chain ones, and themed ones. It’s partly because people love coffee, but probably mostly because Koreans love to go out and socialize. Turning down coffee is not turning down coffee, it’s turning down some hanging out time.

So I went. I’m not a coffee drinker, but I don’t dislike it and I say yes if someone offers. We chatted for awhile which was really nice. The atmosphere was good. It is the same cafe I went to a few weeks ago with different people from church.

image

Then Alex and Haley wanted to get dinner and invited me to eat some really good hamburgers. It was a long walk, but so worth it. The restaurant had great decor and a relaxing atmosphere. It was also the most American-like restaurant I’ve ever been to in Korea. We had real glasses, utensils wrapped in napkins and the menu looked fancy. I had forgotten how different dining in Korea is compared to home.

We ordered chips and salsa which was really good. The burgers were huge. Mine was a triple-cheese burger. So yummy!

 

Then Haley wanted coffee again haha. Alex and Haley are big coffee drinkers. I said yes because I didn’t mind hanging out with them and I was in no rush to get home. So we had coffee at a place called Coffee Mama. They like to take pictures of customers who come in and they encourage customers to leave a message on a post-it note that they display on a large board. A guy working there took a Polaroid of us and we signed it and wrote our own special messages on post-it notes he gave us. While I later regretted drinking so much coffee especially after dinner, I didn’t regret the time I spent with them. We planned to hang out again next weekend and I’m looking forward to it.

